How We Assess

SATs Assessment

What is a Standard Assessment Test (SATs test)?

It is a national test that is taken be all the children in the country at the end of the Key Stage.
Pupils are given a level of attainment (ability) in English, Maths and Science at the end of Key Stage 1 and 2.

At Key Stage 1 there are tests that teachers use but they are informal.

What are the children tested on?

At KS2 the children are tested on the following:


  • Reading Test
  • Spelling, Grammar and Punctuation


  • Arithmetic Test
  • Written Maths Test


  • Science Test (Random selection of schools only)

Key Stage 1 Assessments

In Key Stage 1 the children are tested on their Maths, Reading, Writing and Science.

These assessments take place in an environment the children are familiar with and the children are tested by their teacher.

The assessments are informal and the children are assessed either one to one or in small groups.

Key Stage 1 Phonics

In Year 1 all children are assessed on their understanding of Phonics. They are assessed one to one by their class teacher.